Thursday, August 20, 2009

New CM and provincial ministers of Uva PC sworn in

Aug 20, Colombo: Shashendra Rajapaksa, the elder son of Minister of Ports and Aviation Chamal Rajapaksa took oaths as the new Chief Minister of Uva Province before President Mahinda Rajapaksa this morning at the President’s office.

Four other ministers of the Uva PC were also sworn in before the President along with the new Chief Minister.

Prime Minister Rathnasiri Wickramanayaka was also present at the ceremony.

Shashendra Rajapaksa who is also the nephew of President Rajapaksa received the highest preferential votes in the recently held Uva PC election with 136,686 votes.

Anura Ravindra Vidanagamage, R.M.Kumarasiri, A.M.Buddhadasa and Akalan Sendhil Thondaman were sworn in as the four ministers in the Uva PC.

>> Full Story