Monday, July 13, 2009

New Appointments made by His Excellency the President

The present Army Commander General Sarath Fonseka was today appointed as the new Chief of Defence Staff. He took oaths before President Mahinda Rajapaksa at Janadhipathi Mandiraya today.

This appointment, effective July 15, 2009, is made in accordance with the powers vested in the President by the Chief of Defence Staff Act No. 35 of 2009.

Consequent to this appointment, Major General Jagath Jayasuriya was appointed as the Commander of the Sri Lanka Army, effective July 15, 2009.

The present Commander of the Navy Admiral Wasantha Karannagoda was appointed as the National Security Advisor to the President, from July 15, 2009.

The present Chief of Navy Staff Rear Admiral Thisara Samarasinghe has accordingly been appointed as Commander of the Sri Lanka Navy, effective July 15, 2009.

The current Chief of Staff of the Sri Lanka Army and Competent Authority for the Internally Displaced Persons in the North, Major General G. A. Chandrasiri took his oaths as the new Governor for the Northern Province today - July 12, 2009. Accordingly, Mr. Dixon Dela who was Governor of the Northern Province was appointed as the High Commissioner for Sri Lanka in the Maldives, effective today - July 12, 2009.